Fri. Jun 14th, 2024

New Zealand Cricket (NZC) has named a 15-man squad for the upcoming tour of Pakistan, with wicketkeeper-batter Tom Latham set to steer the aspect.

New Zealand’s squad options two potential debutants in Ben Lister and Cole McConchie, who has been constant performers in home cricket.

The Canterbury skipper is a part of the T20 squad for the Pakistan tour, incomes choice on the again of a powerful home season throughout codecs. McConchie’s 1140 runs throughout all variations of the sport is the second most by any participant this season. The 31-year-old’s off-spin has additionally yielded eight scalps.

Lister, who made his T20I debut earlier this 12 months towards India, was within the ODI squad to face Sri Lanka. The touring get together additionally included Chad Bowes, Rachin Ravindra, and Henry Shipley to offer them additional alternatives to stake a declare within the aspect.

New Zealand head coach Gary Stead admitted that Pakistan are a difficult aspect no matter the place they face them. He additionally added that the vacationers will draw inspiration from their ODI sequence win towards them earlier this 12 months.

As quoted on the official web site, Stead stated:

“We’ve loved various thrilling matches towards Pakistan throughout each white ball codecs within the final season dwelling and means. They’re a troublesome workforce irrespective of the place you are taking them on. The profitable ODI Sequence earlier this 12 months in Pakistan offered massive studying alternatives for the gamers and having extra ODI match expertise is incredible in a World Cup 12 months.”

With Saqlain Mushtaq becoming a member of the Black Caps because the assistant coach, the 51-year-old feels his addition shall be invaluable. Stead conceded:

“Having somebody with Saqlain’s expertise is a giant increase for the group and we’re trying ahead to the insights he can provide us to assist our preparations for native circumstances, and specifically the help he can present to our spin bowling group.”

The sequence will start with the primary of the 5 T20Is on April 14 in Lahore. It is going to be adopted by 5 ODIs, scheduled to be performed in Lahore and Rawalpindi.

New Zealand’s ODI squad for Pakistan tour

Tom Latham (c), Tom Blundell, Chad Bowes, Matt Henry, Ben Lister, Cole McConchie, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Rachin Ravindra, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner, Will Younger.

Fast Hyperlinks

Extra from Sportskeeda

Avatar photo

By Admin

Leave a Reply